June 17, 2024

India Make 4 Forced Changes for the Final Test Match at Gabba

15th January 2021 | TITN Team

On Friday, in the 4th Test Match at Gabba, India were forced to make 4 changes from the previous encounter owing to injuries to Ashwin, Bumrah, Jadeja and Vihari. They were replaced by debutants, Washington Sundar and T Natarajan along with Shardul Thakur and Mayank Agarwal. Australia made one change, bringing in Marcus Harris to replace injured Will Pucovski.

After winning the toss, Australia chose to bat and lost their 1st wicket on the last ball of the first over. Siraj, playing only his second match, induced an edge from the out-of-form David Warner and the catch was brilliantly held onto by Rohit Sharma. Aussies lost their second wicket, when Shardul Thakur on his first ball of the test match, got the wicket of Marcus Harris. With both the openers gone, India had a great chance to take advantage, but Marnus Labuschagne and Steve Smith stitched together a partnership to blunt the Indian bowling attack.

Both the debutants, T Natarajan and Washington Sundar bowled probing lines and were rewarded with the wickets of Mathew Wade, Labuschagne and the prized scalp of Steve Smith.

Australia ended the day with a score of 274/5.